What Jenny's Reading











{February 27, 2014}   Review: Mario Badescu Skin Care

I don’t remember where I heard about Mario Badescu – probably another beauty blog.  Anyway, it’s a high end skin care line that offers personalized skin care and help dealing with adult acne.  I’ve mentioned my struggles before, so I’m always looking for a new product to try and hopefully solve my issues.  So I went to their website, www.mariobadescu.com, and took their quiz to determine which of their products would suit me best.  They came out with a whole list of stuff and offered to send me some free samples.  Since the products are pricey, I thought this was a fabulous idea, so requested they send me a few.

I then promptly forgot about the entire thing.  Ha!  So imagine my surprise when, a week or two later, a whole little package showed up!  Here they are:

Image

They sent me: Collagen Moisturizer (SPF 15), Drying Cream, Drying Mask, Enzyme Cleansing Gel, Healing & Soothing Mask, Hyaluronic Eye Cream, Special Cucumber Lotion, and Strawberry Face Scrub, all products they had recommended to me after the quiz.

I think the idea of sending samples is a really great one.  It gives you to opportunity to try something new out without having to commit to a big purchase, and it shows that the company has confidence in their products.  They are pretty generous, too: I’ve been using the samples pretty much exclusively for almost a week and a half, and I still have some of the masks and the eye cream.

They also sent me a little booklet explaining what they sent me and how to apply them, which is great because I really had no idea (this is not sarcasm, I was genuinely confused!):

Image

Essentially in the mornings, it’s Enzyme Cleansing Gel/Special Cucumber Lotion/Hyaluronic Eye Cream/Collagen Moisturizer.  In the evenings it’s the same, except that the booklet also notes that, 2 – 3 times a week, you should be using either the scrub or the masks (meaning each was to be used 2 – 3 times a week).  Based on how it was all written out, I interpreted this to mean I still follow the morning routine, except in between the Enzyme Cleansing Gel and the Special Cucumber Lotion, I would use either the scrub or one of the masks.  The Drying Cream was to be used as needed, and sparingly.

These products are natural and I also believe vegan, cruelty-free.  I liked that.  They smell fresh, not like chemicals, which I also like.  But the real question: do they work?

For me, I really did like these products, but I can’t honestly say they made a huge difference in the appearance of my skin.  Maybe it helped my skin look brighter, which is nice.  I should’ve taken before and after pictures to compare.  One big plus in its favor was that, when I ran out and switched back to my normal cleanser (Arbonne’s acne care set), it seemed…harsher?  The Arbonne set is already pretty gentle, but I guess Mario Badescu is gentler because I definitely noticed the change!  I did feel like using the cleanser and then a mask or the scrub each night was a bit much, although I don’t think it bothered my skin, it just felt like a lot of work.

I didn’t dislike any of the products, but I did have favorites.  My standouts:

Collagen Moisturizer: This stuff is the bomb.  Lightweight, nongreasy, silky, moisturizes without feeling heavy or sticky, and SPF 15?  Quite honestly, one of the best daily moisturizers I’ve ever used.  I’m definitely getting myself a full size bottle.

Hyaluronic Eye Cream: I love this one.  I was surprised I liked it so much, because I’m so against eye creams, like almost as a principle.  I read somewhere once that you don’t need a separate eye cream unless you’re older or have other issues, that it’s really more a luxury than a necessity and you should just use the extra money to buy a good regular moisturizer.  I don’t remember where I read it, but it must’ve been, like, a dermatologist or something.  It wouldn’t have stuck with me for so long if I hadn’t interpreted it as coming from a voice of authority.  But this is soft, very luxury-feeling, just great.  It also hasn’t caused me a single issue with sensitive eyes or anything.  The only thing it doesn’t do is help with the slight puffiness I have under my eyes.  But Mario Badescu makes another type of eye cream that apparently assists with that.  I will likely try that one, and if I don’t like it, I’ll get myself a full size of this one.

Drying Mask: Really awesome.  It’s drying but not so drying that your skin freaks and breaks out.  Of course, remember I have super oily skin.  People with regular or dry skin maybe shouldn’t use this one, I could see it drying out too much.  But for me, it was great.

Bottom line: I do believe these are worth the money, if you’re looking for a gentle acne fighting skin routine that’s made for not-teen skin.  I want to try a couple more, such as the eye cream I mentioned above, and the Drying Lotion.  I’m also intrigued by the Buffering Lotion, although I don’t get a lot of those cystic-type pimples so maybe that’s not the product I need.  Overall I was very happy with my experience!

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
