What Jenny's Reading











{March 9, 2014}   Oops…Haul Post!

Yeah, so my 40 days of not buying stuff isn’t going super.  I’ve already fallen off the wagon!!  I blame other beauty blogs.  I read a review of a fun new product and then I simply must own it!!  So here’s what I got at Sephora this weekend:

Image

It’s a lot.  I unlocked “VIB” status with this purchase, so…yikes!  I know I won’t be buying stuff for awhile because I simply cannot afford it!  (PS sorry the quality is so cruddy, I’m working on it, I promise!)

Anyway, I always love reading others’ haul posts, so I thought I would do one of my own.  Here’s what I got:

1. Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm (impulse, you know those little bins they have by the registers?).

2. BlenderCleanser Solid brush cleaner, another impulse.  But I’m very happy with it!  I’ve been needing a brush cleaner for awhile, and even though this one was about $15.00 it’s well worth it.  I used it to clean all my brushes yesterday, and you can hardly tell, so I know it’ll be lasting a good long while!

3. Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss in Scarlet Vinyl (review coming).

4. Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Blood Orange (review coming).

5. Stila Stay All Day Vinyl Lip Gloss in Merlot Vinyl (review coming).

6. Buxom Full On Lip Polish in Jennifer (review coming).

7. Sephora Glossy Lip Pencil in Glossy Pink (review coming).

8. Sephora Glossy Lip Pencil in Glossy Orange (review coming).

9. Sephora Glossy Lip Pencil in Glossy Pale Pink (review coming).

10. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light (review coming).

11. Illamasqua nail varnish in Scarab.

12. Sephora + Pantone Universe Liquid Lash Silk Mascara in Rmerald (another impulse; it must be left over from last year, but emerald is my favorite and it was on sale).

13. Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer (review coming).

14. Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation in Pearl (review coming).

15. Marc Jacobs nail varnish in Blue Velvet and Le Charm.

16. Julep Freedom Polymer Top Coat (this was one of the 100 point gifts, and I’m excited to try it).

17. Dr. Dennis Gross Ferulic Acid + Retinol Brightening Solution (in back, review coming).

Whew!  I’m a little embarrassed by my excess.  I went in specifically for the Hourglass and Bite Beauty items, and to look for something to help my acne scars.  I had originally planned on ordering the Hourglass things online, but I wasn’t sure which ones/colors to get, so I decided to go see them in person and swatch them.  I’m so glad I did!!  If I’d ordered them online, I would’ve ended up with a much too dark color on the foundation and would’ve needed to return it.  Also, I was between Ethereal Light and Diffused Light on the ambient powder, and was worried Diffused would be too dark and/or too yellow.  But when I swatched it, it hid some redness and vanished completely into my skin.  Ethereal was nice too, but the redness hiding is what sold me on Diffused.

I’m most excited, though, about the Dr. Dennis Gross product.  For the last few months I’ve been going crazy with acne cleansers, trying all sorts of different things, and I realized recently that my problem isn’t so much acne, but the scarring from previous acne and some icky bumps that I think are acne but they never ever go away.  I do get occasional breakouts, but it’s this leftover scarring that’s what really bugs me.  I explained the issue to one of the girls at Sephora and she suggested I try this one.  It was NOT CHEAP (like, $85!), but she assured me that if I wasn’t happy with it, I could bring it back in a couple of weeks.

So I have taken a “before” picture of one of my cheeks to show what I mean and what I am trying to correct:

Image

Ugh.  It actually doesn’t look as bad I as thought it would, but keep in mind that the other side of my face looks like that too.  I never feel like I have nice skin, I only notice the pore and (to me) crater-sized marks.  This is after a shower (hence the wet hair), so there’s no makeup or anything.  I’m going to use the product as directed for at least the next couple of weeks and will report back on my findings.  I think two weeks should be enough time to know whether it’s going to work or not.

And for any of you still curious about the “reading” part of the blog, rest assured I haven’t stopped reading!  I’m in the middle of what will hopefully be a fun review of one of my favorite Shakespeare plays.  So look for that in the next few days!

I’m guilty of this as well… Going in for one thing and coming out with the entire shop! But it’s just so fun to buy new things!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
