What Jenny's Reading











{March 16, 2014}   Literary Lacquers A Midsummer Night’s Dream Collection: Swatches and Review

Since this blog seems to be evolving into book stuff and beauty/makeup stuff, and I’m in the middle of reviewing the play, I thought it would be super appropriate to review Literary Lacquers’ gorgeous A Midsummer Night’s Dream collection.

Literary Lacquers is currently my favorite indie brand, and the one I own the most of.  I love her colors and style, and I especially love how she ties her polishes to great works of literature!  She’s probably the only indie polish  maker that I want to own EVERYTHING she’s made!

Here are the swatches:

Image

Left to right: Proud Titania, Jealous Oberon Love-In-Idleness, What Fools These Mortals Be, An Honest Puck, A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  All are three coats.

I’m just now noticing the bald spots on the An Honest Puck nail.  Ugh, that is my fault, not the polish’s!  I’m still learning this whole nail wheel thing, and I thought it would be easier to take the photos if it wasn’t my hand!  I found these colors uniformly beautiful and easy to apply.  They have a thin, sort of jelly consistency (I suck at spotting jellys so they may not be “true” jellys but that’s how I think of these buildable polishes with glitter), and can be layered nicely.  Another shot, layered:

Image

Left to right: two coats What Fools These Mortals Be over two coats OPI No Bees Please, two coats Love-In-Idleness over two coats OPI Planks A Lot, two coats A Midsummer Night’s Dream over one coat Sally Hansen Blue My Mind, two coats Proud Titania over one coat Orly Haute Red, and two coats Jealous Oberon over one coat Orly Haute Red.  I didn’t swatch An Honest Puck over a solid color because I didn’t have one I thought would suit properly.

For me, the absolute star of this collection is What Fools These Mortals Be.  Look at all that glitter, all those colors!  I had a hard time deciding what to wear it with, and I decided on a neutral because any other color might’ve hidden one of the glitters, and I wanted them to stand out!  I think the polish itself might be ever so lightly pink-tinged, because on my nail when I wore that combo the polish went pinker than it is usually.  However, I don’t think this would be an issue unless maybe you were wearing it over stark white.  Second favorite is A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  I can’t decide how I like that one: built up on its own, you get that beautiful almost aqua-shade blue, but over another blue I almost feel like the glitter pieces stand out more against that darker background.

As I said, application was super easy and dry time on par with a brand like OPI (I’ve noticed some indies seem to take forever to dry).  I didn’t have to fish for the bigger pieces of glitter at all, which was great.  I would recommend waiting a minute or two between coats though, to make sure the glitter doesn’t move around.

I hope you enjoyed this review!  I’m going to get better at the photo taking, I promise!  I think I need to make myself a lightbox.

Literary Lacquers’ etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/LiteraryLacquer?ref=l2-shopheader-name

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
