What Jenny's Reading











{June 11, 2014}   Negative Space Manicure

I can’t remember where I first saw this – probably on Pinterest.  Anyway, it looks like nudes and bright colors are trendy for this summer (OPI’s “nude and neon” adverts) and I really liked the look of this, so I thought I’d try it.  This is my first attempt at a negative space mani with OPI Deutsch You Want Me Baby? and OPI Suzi & the 7 Dusseldorfs.  Pic is clickable:

Negative Space - OPI Deutsch You Want Me Baby, Suzi and the 7 Duesseldorfs

First off, my natural nail doesn’t look that discolored in real life.  However, it’s probably time to think about a whitening/stain removing treatment.  Any suggestions?

These two colors are from the OPI Germany collection, which is one of my favorites.  I love how glow-y and pretty they are!!

To do this, I painted my nails with base coat and let completely dry.  Then I cut out pieces of masking tape and applied them to my nails, and painted the colors on either side.  I peeled the tape immediately, dried, and then used top coat.  Voila, negative space mani!

I really like how this one looks.  Next time, though, I’ll cut smaller pieces of tape to leave a smaller section of empty nail, and use thinner coats of polish to help with the clean up.

Any of you tried this look?  What were your results?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
