What Jenny's Reading











{June 14, 2014}   Sally Hansen Color Foils: Swatches & Reviews

Happy Saturday!  Remember how I said I wasn’t going to watch Game of Thrones till I finished all the (published) books?  Well, a good friend hooked me on the first season so that’s what I did most of last night and what I will be doing most of today, ha!  And can I just say that watching Khal Drogo die was even worse than reading about it???

In between episodes, I have four polishes from the new Sally Hansen Color Foils.  They were on sale last week at Target, buy 3 get 1 free, so I couldn’t resist!  They are the first chrome polishes I’ve ever owned, so I can’t really compare them to other colors/brands, but I was pretty impressed!  I’m going to say the same thing about each formula, which is: it was great.  These are all 2 coats, they went on smooth and easy with no balding issues.  The polish bottles say to use this without base or topcoat, so I did.  I don’t know if using base would’ve caused a balding issue or not.  Anyway, on to the pics!

Sterling Silver 2 coats

Sterling Silver.  This is just great.  Except, of course, for the ridges, but that’s my nail, not the polish.  Maybe next time I’ll try these with my Orly ridge filling base.  Another pic, in slightly different light to show the “chrome” effect:

Sterling Silver 2 coats 2

It looks a little pink, but I promise it’s not.  Silver!

Minted Metal 2 coats

Minted Metal.  This one disappointed me.  I was hoping for a green chrome, but it’s more teal-leaning than the bottle would lead you to expect.  The first coat goes on green, but the second is more blue.  It’s odd.  Another:

Minted Metal 2 coats 2

See how it looks very pale blue?  It gave me the sads.

Cobalt Chrome 2 coats

Cobalt Chrome.  This is a great blue.  Here’s another to show the chrome finish:

Cobalt Chrome 2 coats 2

I don’t have much more to say about this one, except “it’s great!”

Leaden Lilac 2 coats

Leaden Lilac.  This one surprised me, but in a good way.  I thought it would be a more pastel purple, but it’s not, and I’m glad.  More:

Leaden Lilac 2 coats 2

Overall, I found these polishes super easy to work with.  They dried fast, too, which was a huge plus.  I don’t know if that’s different from other chrome polishes, but I’ve read reviews of other brands that complained about them being difficult to work with, so I’d assume so.  I definitely recommend these and I may end up buying a couple more!  They had a copper that looked pretty cool.  Ooh, how awesome would a red foil, or an orange, look?  Probably not super summery, though.

Have you tried any of these?  What’s your opinion on chrome polishes?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
