What Jenny's Reading











{June 21, 2014}   L’Oreal Miss Manga Mascara Review

I have very long eyelashes.  Everyone in my family does: my brother, my sister, my two beautiful nieces.  Everyone except my mom.  We get it from our dad.  There was a commercial when I was little, with a woman wearing mascara and saying it made her lashes so long they would hit her glasses when she put them on.  Mine just do this regularly.  So I don’t think I actually owed mascara until I was in college.  Maybe not even then.  I thought, “Pfft, who needs it?  I already have long black lashes, what more can it do???”

Here is a photo of my eye with no makeup, to show you my natural lash:

2014-06-17 18.23.18

No makeup, for reals.  Now, I’m not showing you this to be all “BOW BEFORE MY SUPERIOR LASH-RELATED GENETICS, PEONS!”  I just want you to see the before/after.

I started buying mascara when I realized it can help with other things: volume, for one.  My lashes feel a bit sparse to me, and there are those little bare patches on the bottom row.  Also, mascara really helps “set” my eye makeup, for lack of a better way to explain it.  I’ve tried tons of different kinds, from drugstore to high end, and I have to say that in my experience, L’Oreal makes the best drugstore mascara.  The formulas are consistent, the product lasts, and it’s rare that I have clumping issues.

I was at CVS recently and a display caught my eye, for a new L’Oreal mascara called “Miss Manga.”  What could that be, I wondered.  The display said it was volumizing, so I thought I would try it out.  I guess it’s supposed to simulate the look of Manga character lashes.  I don’t really watch those shows so I don’t know what it means, but I guess the lashes are thick and spiky?

20140621_082420

Here’s the mascara.  Cute packaging, right?  Brush:

20140621_082500

I will admit that my first experience with the brush was a bit strange.  On all other mascaras I’ve used, the brush has been firmly attached to the wand.  This one is different.  A few centimeters down the wand is a little cut that makes the brush “bobble” a bit when you apply it.  At first I was nervous about using it, because I was afraid it would smear and go everywhere without that additional control, but I’ve found I like it!  It lets you “flick” on your lashes a bit without getting tons of product on them, if that makes sense.

After.  This is three coats on the top lashes, one on the bottom:

2014-06-21 08.29.06

The rest of the makeup you see here is Maybelline MasterDrama eyeliner in Vibrant Violet, Maybelline MasterSmoky in Emerald Fury, and shading done with Urban Decay Strange and Dust.

Mis Manga comes in three shades: Black Brown, Black, and Blackest Black.  I always buy the darkest mascara color I can find, so this is Blackest Black.

I do think it makes a difference, especially on the bottom lashes.  I suspect the difference will be even more noticeable for those with shorter lashes.  Interestingly, the brush helped straighten out some of my lashes – on my right eye, for whatever reason, my lashes sort of list off to the right.  Nothing I’ve ever done has corrected this, but this little brush helps sort them out and make them look more normal.

What do you think?  Do you think you’ll try Miss Manga?  What’s your absolute HG mascara?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
