What Jenny's Reading











{June 30, 2014}   NOTD and Coming Soon!!

So here are the nails I’ve been wearing for the last three days.  I love them so much:

2014-06-28 08.19.44

The base color is Deborah Lippman’s La Vie En Rose, four coats.  It’s a very transparent pale pink with a coppery/gold shimmer.  Even at four coats you could still seem some VNL, but it didn’t bother me with this beautiful nude!  The polish itself was easy to work with but a tiny bit streaky.  I wore it by itself for a couple of days and then added the art you see with a black striper pen (KISS brand).  The lines weren’t as uniform as I wanted, but oh well.  Then I topped with two coats Sally Hansen Snowglobe.

Can I just say that I got more compliments on this than probably any other nail art I’ve done this whole year?  And why not?  Look at it!  It’s fucking magnificent, I tell you!

Anyway, I promise this isn’t just a nails post.  I bought some new makeup brushes recently:

20140625_180323

These are Real Techniques brushes, a brand developed by makeup artists.  I started looking for them after seeing Melanie Murphy’s YouTube review.  I can’t figure out how to link but you should totally go searching for it.  In fact, I highly recommend all her videos, she is excellent.

Anyway, I purchased these at my local Ulta and they were buy one get one 50% off, so I got a really great deal.  They’re very reasonably priced anyway.  I plan to use the brushes for the next couple of weeks and then do a review.  I can say already though that I’m pretty impressed.  The bristles on each brush are densely packed but still soft.  Totally unlike the brushes I have from Bare Minerals (densely packed, kinda prickly) or Arbonne (not super packed, almost too soft).

I hope you all had a lovely weekend!  I’m planning on a swatching post coming up soon.  Black Cat zodiac polishes, anyone???

Leave a Reply

et cetera
