What Jenny's Reading











{July 3, 2014}   A Reading Rainbow Update and Stuff I Dislike

First, the good: Reading Rainbow made over $5 million with their Kickstarter campaign!  Add in the $1 million that Seth MacFarlane generously donated, and they raised almost $7 million!  Amazing!  I am so, so happy that such a wonderful project did so well and resonated with so many!  The amount I was able to donate was pretty small, but this was always about many people donating small amounts, regular people just like you and me, who mainly remembered RR as kids and wanted to help out.  Yay!

Anyway…now on to the not so good.  I thought pretty hard about this post, because I hate to say “I really dislike this product” and have someone decide not to buy it.  But, I also want to be honest, and if I don’t like something I think it’s fair for me to explain why.

So here are the products I tried this month and, for various reasons, didn’t like them:

2014-07-03 19.13.37

From left to right: Maybelline MasterSmoky eye pencil in Emerald Fury, L’Oreal MagicLumi Light Infusing Primer, Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Stockholm, Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo, Almay Wake Up undereye concealer, L’Oreal Magic Perfecting Base, and Wet ‘N Wild D-Vinely Chilled lipstick.

Okay, let’s start with the primers.  Here’s a pic (obviously not rubbed in):

2014-07-03 19.02.38

It’s hard to tell, but on the left is the Magic Perfecting Base, and the right is the MagicLumi Light Infusing Primer.  The Magic Perfecting Base, as you can see, it a little…chunky.  It’s weird.  I tried it out and I swear it was like rubbing powder into my face.  Then, my foundation/powder just felt like it was almost peeling off as the day went on, in sheets.  Maybe I got a bad batch or something, but just: ugh.  NO.

The MagicLumi is a little different story.  I like how it goes on, nice and smooth, and it’s good at holding foundation and BB cream in place.  But, as the name suggests, it’s truly a light-infusing primer, and it was just a bit too much for me.  It made me look pretty shiny.  I won’t get rid of it, though; I’ll just repurpose it as highlighter.

Concealer:

20140703_190022

This concealer is the first makeup I’ve bought from Almay in probably 10 years.  I was less than impressed, I have to say.  Other than it being too dark for me, I hate how you apply it.  Instead of the doe pad most concealers come with, this has a brush that you’re supposed to twist and release product into and then apply from there.  I actually have a highlighter that does this, and I love it, but this one just fell short.  The brush didn’t dispense product evenly, and it was really hard to get the product even into the brush at all.  Most unfortunately, it also failed to live up to the promise that it would help with undereye bags.  Nope.

Lipsticks:

20140703_185823

Left to right: Nyx Stockholm, Nyx Monte Carlo, Wet ‘N Wild D-Vinely Chilled.

First, let’s start with Nyx, because the problem I had with them is with both.  The colors were all wrong for me, but the real issue was how very, very matte it got.  I know it’s called matte lip cream, but geez, it made me look like I was wearing some sort of weird almost plastic coating on my lips.  It was very, very drying, too.  Pass.  The problem with D-Vinely Chilled was that it felt very grainy on my lips.  One of my huge pet peeves is when you’re wearing lip color and it just beads up or makes your lips look really chapped, and settles into the lines.  Does that make sense?  This stuff does that for me.

Eye Pencil:

20140703_190415

The pencil does exactly what it says it will do, so that’s not the issue.  My problem with this is the color.  When you call something “Emerald Fury” it should actually be green, at least in my opinion.  I won’t get rid of it, but I am pretty disappointed.

So, those are products I wasn’t super excited about this month.  Have you ever tried anything that just didn’t work for you?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
