What Jenny's Reading











{July 9, 2014}   Organization: Help!

You know how you expand to fill the space you have?  This is not a fat joke!  I mean, if you live in a smaller space, you by necessity have less stuff, or at least are very organized.  But if you move into a larger space, all of a sudden you have more stuff and less room than before?

…This isn’t just me, right?

Anyway.  About eight months ago I moved, and as part of the deal I got a bathroom about twice the size of the one I had before.  It’s amazing.  All that’s missing is the garden tub, but hey, nothing’s perfect, right?

I have never been what you might call a minimalist.  I have often wished I could be one, but my experiments have always backfired and I’ve wound up having even MORE stuff than previous.  No, I’m not a hoarder.  I just keep a lot of stuff on hand.  I panic sometimes, thinking I’ll run out of conditioner or moisturizer at 10 pm and clearly the WORLD WILL END, it will be so terrible.  Yes, I am ridiculous.

This disjointed narrative is essentially a way for me to ask for help.  My bathroom is in disarray because I have so many things and no real storage system for them!  I have a large countertop where I keep most of my makeup in two plastic drawer bins, and then three large drawers in the vanity where I keep other things.

Unfortunately, this is what it looks like right now.  Please don’t judge me:

20140708_195510

Countertop.  Those two bins are the small size you can buy at Target.  They worked just fine till recently, but they are the perfect height/width for that space.  I think I just need something a bit…I don’t know, better?

20140708_195540

Top drawer.  It’s a traditionally shallow drawer that I keep most of my hair stuff in.  First, yes, that ugly green paper needs to go, I know.  It was there when I moved in and since it’s hidden buying something new hasn’t been on the top of my list.  Anyway, I did think about getting some dividers, but then I have awful thoughts about opening the drawer and finding bugs in the dividers.  I live in Florida, after all.  No matter how clean I am, it’s just a matter of time.  (No, I don’t know why I think there will be no bugs if I have no dividers.  My thought processes are frequently not based in reality.)

20140708_195609

Middle drawer.  This is actually a great set up; I didn’t like the drawers when I moved in, but now I love them.  They are so deep, and can hold so many things!  I keep samples, vitamins, medicines, and hair and nail stuff I use frequently here.

20140708_195643

Bottom drawer.  This drawer is entirely storage and hair stuff I use infrequently.  I use Suave conditioner and I tend to buy it in bulk when it goes on sale.  There are also a few Arbonne moisturizers and body scrubs in the back, from when I purchased last…in January.  The blue bendy sticks are no heat curlers that I use sometimes.  The glass measuring cup is for mixing henna, and the green bottle next to it is the BEST coconut oil you will ever use on your hair: Dabur Vatika Enriched Coconut Hair Oil.  It is AMAZING.  You can buy it on Amazon and it’s super inexpensive, too.  Word to the wise, however: it does have henna in it, and while I’ve never heard anyone say it’s changed the color of their hair, anyone with paler hair may want to proceed with caution.

Ahem.  Sorry about that little tangent.  So as you can see, I’m not all that well organized.  We haven’t even gotten to my nail stuff, which I at least have in some semblance of organization in a couple of Melmers, but even that will eventually need to be addressed.

So!  Ideas?  How do you store your beauty products?  Should I break down and get some kind of dividers?  Suck it up and toss some stuff?  Any ideas for the makeup storage on the countertop that wouldn’t overwhelm?

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
