What Jenny's Reading











{August 1, 2014}   Happy Friday: Wedding Nails!

Today’s the day!  Today is my best friend’s wedding.  In about an hour I’m leaving to go meet everyone – we will have breakfast, hair, makeup, and then the party tonight.  I’m really looking forward to it, I think it will be a lot of fun!

For the rehearsal dinner, I did a marble effect with OPI Push & Pur-Pull and OPI You Are So Outta Lime!  I like marble nails, they look fancy and are pretty easy.

2014-07-28 20.07.50

This is three coats Push & Pur-Pull with the You Are So Outta Lime! painted and then daubbed off with a tissue.  Her wedding colors are wine and green, so I thought this would be perfect.  I liked it so much, actually, that when I realized I needed to re-do my nails yesterday I thought I’d just re-do this manicure.

But then I had to run to CVS to pick up a couple of things, and the Essie display caught my eye.  I have never bought Essie polish before, and I really can’t explain why.  I’d say I disliked it, but how can I dislike something I’ve never tried before?  Well, one polish really grabbed me: On a Silver Platter.  I don’t know if it’s new, limited edition, part of the permanent line.  I just know it was gorgeous and I had to own it!

On a Silver Platter is a metallic that sometimes looks silver and sometimes looks gold.  It’s full of little pieces of blue-purple glitter and larger holographic purple circles.  It’s a tiny bit sheer, so this is four coats:

2014-08-01 08.07.32

Here is another, that at least shows a little silver.  It was hard to photograph the silver color shift:

2014-08-01 08.10.14

Probably the crappiest macro in the world:

2014-08-01 08.16.02

2014-08-01 08.17.18

Overall this is just a stunning polish.  It’s a party for my nails!  I did wake up this morning to mild chipping along the tips on a couple of nails, but I’m going to attribute that to my decision to use the Sally Hansen Gel Miracle top coat.  That top coat and I just don’t seem to get along!

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
