What Jenny's Reading











{September 20, 2014}   Swatch Saturday: OPI On Stranger Tides Collection

Happy Saturday!  I’m glad that I pre-swatched these, because I was right – I would’ve been too busy to do it today!

I have the OPI On Stranger Tides collection today.  This is from spring 2011, so you know.  Current!  I like this collection, but to be honest a couple of them I bought for names alone, and they will be re-homed.  See, that’s why it’s good that I’m doing this swatch project.  I get to thin my collection a bit, and other people will get barely-used polishes to enjoy.

They are all three coats, topped with an OPI topcoat.  The formula on these was mainly good, a little streaky at times but it always evened out.

2014-09-13 08.16.28

Skull & Glossbones.  A sort of dirty very pale grey.  I love this, it’s probably my favorite of the entire collection.

2014-09-13 08.25.08

Steady as she Rose.  A pale, pinky-purply lilac.  This is pretty, but not exactly my style.  It’ll be rehomed to a friend of mine who loves neutrals and pastels.

2014-09-13 08.34.52

Stranger Tides.  LOVE!  A pale murky green.  Sort of like if you uncovered a pirate ship, and inside was the body of a pirate girl who was once wearing deep green polish but the years and friction from the water turned it that almost non-color.

2014-09-13 08.42.37

Mermaid’s Tears.  A dusty minty blue.  Very, very similar to the recent My Dogsled is a Hybrid from the Nordic collection.  This is another I will rehome, as I prefer the slightly brighter MDIAH.  Also, fair warning – this one will stain!

2014-09-13 08.51.40

Sparrow Me the Drama.  A dusty sort of bubblegum pink.  I like this one, it’s very different from your regular vibrant pinks.  Also, great name!  Although I can’t see Jack Sparrow wearing this one.  I think he’d go for dark brown or black.

2014-09-13 09.03.55

Planks a Lot.  A nice lavender purple.  Again, great color, great name.

2014-09-13 09.07.13

Silver Shatter.  I like the glittery shatters, although I think this is the only one I own.  This is one thick coat over Planks a Lot.  I had intended to do a thinner coat, but my Shatter is a little runny so I ended up with a thicker one.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
