What Jenny's Reading











{September 29, 2014}   Review: Urban Decay Pulp Fiction Collection

It’s Monday!  How was your day?  Mine was busy but not too bad!  I always prefer to be busy, makes time go faster and you have something to do.

I got most of the Urban Decay Pulp Fiction collection yesterday at Ulta.  I have to admit, I’ve never seen Pulp Fiction,  I know!  Also, I’ll probably get hated for this, but I’m not a huge Tarantino fan either.  I mean, when I was in college everyone said I had to watch Reservior Dogs, that it was the best movie EVA and so on and so forth.  So I watched it, and I was all, “That’s it?  It’s just a bunch of assholes arguing and shooting each other!  Why is that special?”

Pulp Fiction came out when I was too young to see it in the theater without a parent present, and when I was old enough I think I figured “Ugh, Travolta,” and never saw it.  However, I did read a synopsis of it the other day and I guess his character dies?  Maybe I should watch it.

Anyway, I bought the collection not because of Pulp Fiction, but because I freaking loved the set:

20140928_153438

I got the eye shadow palette, the lip pencil, and the nail polish.  They didn’t have the lipstick, and I wasn’t a huge fan of the sparkle eyeliner.

20140928_153553

Shadows.  I also love the little red brush!

2014-09-28 15.37.49

Swatches.  From L to R: Righteous, Tyranny, Vengeance, Furious, Anger.  Anger is so close to my skin color that it’s difficult to see, but I promise it’s there!

These shadows are super, super pigmented – a little goes a very long way!  I couldn’t get my stupid camera to focus well enough to take a picture “in action,” but I used Furious as an eyeliner, then Tyranny on the lid, Vengeance on the crease, and Righteous as a highlight.  I added a soft dusting of Anger over it all.  It looks awesome and I’ve now been wearing it for almost ten hours, and it still looks great.

2014-09-28 15.39.12

Pencil swatch of Mrs. Mia Wallace.  The press calls this a “blood red” but it’s a little brighter than that to me.  I’m glad I didn’t get the lipstick, because I’ve had trouble with the UD Revolution lipstick (the formula doesn’t agree with me) and I’ve already read the lipstick is a tough lighter.

2014-09-28 15.51.26

Swatch of Mrs. Mia Wallace on the lips.  I think this looks awesome, personally.  It’s redder in real life, and even though it does a bit of a pink turn on me after awhile, it still looks great.  It lasted pretty well, too – I was pretty tough on it today for breakfast and lunch, and there was still a stain till a couple of hours ago.  Also even though it’s a pencil, it wasn’t drying.

2014-09-28 17.05.44

Mrs. Mia Wallace nail color swatch.  Honestly, I actually think this picture shows the color of the lip pencil better, as they’re nearly the same.  This is an awesome bloody red at just two coats.

2014-09-28 15.43.17

The top of the case had this quote which is apparently really important in the movie.

So have you tried any of these shades?  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
