What Jenny's Reading











{October 9, 2014}   Swatch “Saturday”: Halloween Nails, Pt. 2

I am posting this on a Thursday evening because otherwise it wouldn’t get done till next week.  I am out of town again this weekend, so wanted to at least get this done!  Here is part two of my Halloween nails for this week.  I warn you, there are a few fails here…

2014-10-05 21.06.45

This one is my favorite.  It’s OPI No Bees Please as a base, with Wet ‘n’ Wild Darkest Hour and Ghouls Rush In on the top.  It was super easy, too – paint, then swipe a couple of times with color, then the dotting tool.  I got the idea from a friend of mine who had her nails done like this last weekend, but not in Halloween colors.  I really like it.

2014-10-06 18.17.54

Ugh.  Good idea, bad execution.  These are supposed to be zombie nails, with an accent of blood.  The base is Adorn Carpe Noctum, with OPI Skull & Glossbones sponged on.  The accent nail has China Glaze Ruby Pumps.  So what went wrong?  Everything.  Everything went wrong!

2014-10-07 18.53.13

This is OPI Skull & Glossbones with my KISS striper.  It’s a little better, it’s supposed to be spiderwebs but honestly I think they look like wheel spokes.  I used my smallest dotting tool, but I probably should’ve used a fine detailer brush.

2014-10-09 19.15.26

This picture didn’t turn out exactly like I wanted.  So did the nails: the underside is OPI Deutsche You Want me Baby? with Sally Hansen nail stickers in black lace.  I’d never used these before, and was really excited, but we’ll see how they wear.  I probably shouldn’t have used topcoat over them.

So, there you go!  Not as exciting as last week, but I wanted to show even my disappointments.  I am in the middle of reading Gone Girl, which is excellent, so expect a recap of that one up soon!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
