What Jenny's Reading











{November 22, 2014}   Swatch Saturday: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lip Set

Happy Saturday!  Can you believe Thanksgiving is next week?  I can’t!  This month has seemed to just fly by.

I’ve been putting the finishing touches on my last Gone Girl review, and also my last Little House review.  It’s sort of sad I’m finishing these!  Don’t worry, though, I have a couple of other things in store.  Hunger Games, anyone?

The publisher for Pioneer Girl apparently put it off for a month, so it doesn’t come out till December now.  But I’ve heard that if you pre-order you’ll receive it before that.  I’m trying to decide if I want to do that and see what happens, or if I want to wait.  So far I don’t think it’ll be released for my Nook, so just ordering the book is probably a good option.  I thought about putting it on my gift list, but I don’t know that I can wait that long to read it!

So today I thought I’d try something new with Swatch Saturday.  Last weekend I went to Sephora and picked up the Kat Von D Studded Kiss lipstick set.  I’ve never tried her lipsticks or any of her makeup line really, but I’ve read good things and figured this was an easy way to try new things out.  You get nine shades, all in minis.  Unfortunately the set doesn’t include Poe, which I am desperate to own but just know deep down it would never work on me.  I mean, navy blue lipstick?  I tried black lipstick on Halloween and I looked pretty dead.  Of course, this was before I changed my hair color to red.  You thought I was joking in my Frederick Barnes recap, didn’t you?

I’ll probably blog about that odyssey sooner or later.  I need to fix some color issues and I think I need…gasp…bleach.  So it’ll be slow, careful going.

Anyway.  So the Kat Von D lipsticks.  Pics are clickable:

2014-11-16 14.06.51

This is the little box set you get.  I have no idea why that picture is so small, or why it’s upside down.  The colors are: Agatha, Lovecraft, Sexer, Wonderchilde, Countess, Adora, Bachelorette, Hexagram, and Motorhead.

Swatches:

2014-11-22 08.47.51

Left to right: Agatha, Lovecraft, Sexer, Wonderchlde, Countess

2014-11-22 08.50.28

Left to right: Adora, Bachelorette, Hexagram, Motorhead

I’m going to discuss the formulas with each lip swatch, as they’re slightly different.  Some were awesome, some not so awesome.  One thing I will say about these lipsticks: they claim to offer 10-hour wear, and for the most part, THEY DO.  This is a first for me, honestly, considering how hard I am on lipsticks.  They are a bit drying, yes, but nothing I haven’t been able to combat with a little lip balm.

Also?  I strongly urge you to prep your lips.  Exfoliate!  I have a great sugar exfoliate from Makeup Academy that I got at CVS and it wasn’t too expensive.  Or you can make your own, with a little sugar and honey.  You are going to want to do this, even if you think your lips are smooth as a baby’s bottom.  Trust me!

On to the swatches!  I did not use a lip pencil or lip brush with any of these, and I haven’t when I’m wearing them either.  I guess that’s one good thing about the tiny lipsticks: you have a lot more control over where they go.

2014-11-16 14.23.49

Agatha.  This is billed as a matte pale peach nude.  So I guess “matte pale peach nude” is what I’ll be calling my skin tone from now on.  The formula was good, but I can’t see myself wearing this unless I want people to think I’ve recently died.  Maybe if I’m a zombie next Halloween.

2014-11-16 14.25.58

Lovecraft.  This is matte mauve pink nude, which is better.  It’s a pretty close match for my natural lip color, just a bit lighter.  Formula was also good, but it’s the only one I’d say didn’t actually last the whole 10 hours.  Or maybe it did, and I just didn’t notice, as it’s so close to natural for me.

2014-11-16 14.29.21

Sexer.  Iridescent fluorescent pink.  Yikes, you guys!  It’s pretty but I can’t imagine ever working up the courage to wear this one out in public.  So bright, so pink.  You know how your older female relatives always wear bright pink lipstick, because it was popular back in the day?  This reminds me of that.  Also the formula was a tiny bit cakey.

2014-11-16 14.31.52

Wonderchilde.  Iridescent neon lilac.  My surprise favorite!  I was shocked by how much I loved this one and how good it actually looked on.  It reminds me a bit of the purple lipsticks I wore as a tween in the ’90s (dating myself I know) which is probably one of the reasons I adore it so.  This one also requires some lip prepping, so just remember that, but I’d encourage anyone who wants to try purple lipstick to try this one out!

2014-11-16 14.47.17

Countess.  Matte hot orange red.  Reminds me a bit of MAC’s Scarlet Ibis, but not as bright.  Also I think it faded a bit to pink when I wore it one day, which is weird, because one of the reasons I tend to pick orange reds is that they don’t really do that.  But I still like this one.

2014-11-16 15.22.23

Adora.  Metallic golden red.  Nice, and the metallic formula actually made it a tiny bit creamier than some of the others.  Will wear again!

2014-11-16 16.30.12

Hexagram.  Matte blood red.  You guys, this one is very buildable.  I wore it yesterday and it looked very, very similar to my beloved MAC Dubonnet, but with the added bonus that it feathered almost hardly at all, and it LASTED ALL DAY.  In fact, the color stayed fairly true to red too.

2014-11-16 16.52.18

Motorhead.  Matte black cherry.  The huge disappointment of the collection!  First off, it’s also buildable, like Hexagram.  That’s not what disappointed me, though.  This formula was really, really chalky and just sinks right into the grooves of your lips, making building up to that gorgeous dark color nearly impossible, even after careful exfoliation.  Heartbreaking, really.  I’ve been looking for a red black lipstick and I was hoping this would be it!

So there you have it!  My absolute favorites are Hexagram and Wonderchilde, but other than Agatha and Motorhead, I don’t dislike any of them.  I will likely end up buying Poe at some point in the near future (NAVY BLUE SPARKLY LIPSTICK HOW CAN I RESIST?) and I also want to try Homegirl, which is a matte black berry and might get me the black red shade I’m craving, and Underage Red, because it’s billed as “fire” red.

The set was $39.00 at Sephora, and the Studded Kiss line retails for $21.00/each.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
