What Jenny's Reading











{January 10, 2015}   Swatch Saturday: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Homegirl and Poe

Happy Saturday!  I will probably have some more Black Cat polish for you next week, but this week I have a couple more of Kat Von D’s lipsticks.

I got a coupon from Sephora over the holidays, so of course I used it.  I got a few things I needed, like makeup brush cleaner, but I also splurged a little and got two shades from the Studded Kiss line that I was wanting, Homegirl and Poe.

20141211_164712~2

Homegirl on top, Poe on bottom.

20141211_164531~2

Homegirl is billed as a matte black berry.  It’s similar to Motorhead in my opinion, but is much easier for application.  It’s a nice dark berry color that doesn’t look black but is pretty striking.  It got some pretty good wear out of it, and since it’s buildable, you can do it either really dark or just a stain.  I like it a lot.

20141211_164014~2
Poe is “shimmer navy,” but on me it looks dark purple.  I really love this, but it’s definitely not for every day.  Sometimes I use a little lip brush and sort of paint it on lightly.  Again, really good wear time, and it stays put.

With all Kat Von D lipsticks I’ve tried, I recommend prepping your lips beforehand!  And also, maybe this is just me, but I’ve found they go on smoother and last longer if I prep and then apply immediately, without putting on any sort of balm or gloss in between.

There are a few others of hers I want to try, like Archangel and Hellbent.  So far I’ve been pretty impressed with this lipstick line!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
