What Jenny's Reading











{January 23, 2015}   Quick Review: CND Vinylux Topcoat

I’ll probably have some Black Cat for you tomorrow but I just wanted to do a very quick review.  The day before the wedding last weekend, we all got our nails done.  The girl who did my nails used an Essie base coat and then the CND Vinylux topcoat (I believe it’s called weekly topcoat?).  That was Saturday of last week.  Check my nails out:

20150123_182650~2

I took this picture five minutes ago.  This is six days after having them done.  Check out how good they still look!!  I’m holding my super big bottle of CND Stickey base coat, which is probably the best base I’ve ever used (I don’t think I’ll ever use anything else, seriously).  The nail polish is an OPI but I can’t remember what it’s called.  At the salon, I kept picking up colors and realizing I already owned them, and I wanted something I didn’t already own.  My toes are this same color too.  I like it; too bad I can’t remember what it’s called.

But that’s not the point!  The point is the beautiful wear time I got out of this manicure.  Granted, it was a salon and not me doing it, and I know those are always better (at least for me they are), but I am really, REALLY hard on my nails.  I type almost all day, every day, and I tend to use them to open pop cans and other things, so it’s tough to get a manicure to last more than three days without major incident.

But this is six days of typing and karate class and showering and washing my hands, with only a bit of tip wear.  Also, they are still shiny!!  What’s up with that!  I have tried several types of gel-type topcoats, all promising long wear and endless shine, and have been mostly disappointed.  Julep Polymer is okay, but you have to set it under a light and it tends to crack polish after a day or so.  Butter London’s gel-like set is nice, but at $40 for the base and top, it’s a bit pricey.  Sally Hansen Miracle was a total joke, chipped in less than a few hours.  But this, as they say, is a totally different ball game.

Also I just ran back to the bathroom to try taking it off, to see if it’s difficult to remove.  Came right off with regular acetone remover and a cottonball, friends!

Just…wow.  I think I’m in love.

Have you ever tried this stuff?  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
