What Jenny's Reading











{January 24, 2015}   Swatch Saturday: Black Cat Lacquer Witchcraft – Halloween Collection

Happy Saturday!  I know it’s been a few months since Halloween (and it’s not for another several months), but I got these polishes recently and wanted to show them off.  They are gorgeous and not so specifically Halloween-y that you couldn’t wear them all year round.

I’ve raved about Black Cat Lacquer before, so I’ll be brief: I love them.  I love the glitters, the collections, the colors, the names of the polishes, I love it all!  Like all BC polishes, they are best if you do the daubbing method (with the exception of one polish in this collection).  Dry time is a bit longer than your typical mainstream polishes, but in my opinion, the few extra minutes are worth it.

I did three coats of all except the last one, I Put a Spell on You, which is two.  All of them have regular and flash pictures except for the first, because I forgot.

20150106_171823~2

Coven.  Black cherry jelly with holo and multicolored glitter.  I wish I’d done the flash, this picture doesn’t do this gorgeous polish justice!

20150108_181905~2

Alchemy.  Deep green jelly with holo and multicolored glitter.  Sort of army green looking, right?  Almost swampy.  Till…

20150108_181944~2

Boom!  Check out that gorgeous green!

20150110_112751~2

Seance.  Billed as a glow in the dark holo with multicolored glitter.  It’s a creamy, almost greyed sort of nude in person, a bit like Ethereal Lacquer Macabre.  Very nice and clean looking.  I never saw the glow in the dark, though, honestly.

With flash:

20150110_112807~2

I’m still loving the nude-ish colors as much as last year, it appears.

20150110_123745~2

Black Cat over Seance.  Black Cat is a multicolored glitterbomb in a clear base, so it’s a great topper.

20150110_123802~2

With flash.  I love glitterbombs!

20150111_103343~2
Salem.  Black jelly with purple and gold glitter and a rosy sort of sheen.  There are lots of different glitters in this one; triangles and moons and stars.  It’s very pretty.  I think next time I wear it I’ll put it over a coat of regular black.

20150111_103356~2

With flash.

20150124_084541~2

I Put a Spell on You.  Blue jelly with rainbow glitter and sparkles.  This one applied just like a “regular” polish, and I didn’t have to daub at all.  It was also opaque in two coats.  Very pretty!

20150124_084555~2

With flash.

Overall, I love this collection.  I need a better camera; mine just can’t capture the awesome multicolored sparkles!  Believe me when I say these pictures don’t do the polishes justice.

On the technical aspect, I got good glitter distribution from them all, so I wasn’t “fishing” for pieces.  Also I think these all need topcoat; they dried a little bit matte, for some reason, but topcoat made them shine again, no problems.

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
