What Jenny's Reading











{February 14, 2015}   Swatch Saturday: Polish Wars, Valentine’s Day Edition: The Reds

Happy Valentine’s Day!  Today for Polish Wars I have the red polishes, which I thought was appropriate.  I apologize in advance because this post is pic-heavy, but I have a TON of red polish.  In fact, I have others I didn’t include here because I already knew I was keeping them.  So this is just the tip of the iceberg, friends.  Clearly red is my favorite nail color!

Also I have a couple of little nail art pics at the bottom, if you make it through the whole post. 🙂

Let’s start with the lighter reds first:

20150208_084332~2

This is, left to right: Orly Haute Red, Butter London Come to Bed Red, OPI Danke-Shiny Red, Illamasqua Throb, OPI Red Hot Rio, OPI Over & Over A-Gwen, OPI Kennebunk-Port, OPI An Affair in Red Square, China Glaze Ruby Pumps, and OPI Berry Berry Broadway.

20150208_084436~2

Shot of the bottoms of the bottles.  I’m not sure why I included this, to be honest.

20150208_084233~2

Here are the nail swatches, same order as above.

20150208_084741~2

Closer picture.  This is Orly Haute Red, Butter London Come to Bed Red, OPI Danke-Shiny Red, Illamasqua Throb, OPI Red Hot Rio, and OPI Over & Over A-Gwen.

20150208_084810~2

Close up of the other side of the nail wheel.  Here’s OPI Kennebunk-Port, OPI An Affair in Red Square, China Glaze Ruby Pumps, and OPI Berry Berry Broadway.

Finally:

20150208_084717~2

Super close up of OPI Red Hot Rio and OPI Over & Over A-Gwen.  To my eyes, they look identical.

So out of this particular group, I have one absolute dupe.  The others are various different shades, but some are close enough that I don’t need both, such as AFIRS and Danke-Shiny Red.  They both have that sort of glowy look, but AFIRS looks more pinkish to me.  Orly Haute Red is also similar to Butter London CTBR.  Ruby Pumps has some glitter in it, rather than being a standard red creme.  Berry Berry Broadway isn’t really “red” so much but I wasn’t sure where else to include it.  It’s apparently pretty rare, so I’m going to hold on to it.

So from this group I’m definitely getting rid of Orly Haute Red, OPI Red Hot Rio, and OPI An Affair in Red Square.  OPI Kennebunk-Port will go into my “maybe” pile.

Now for the darker reds:

20150214_071128~2

Right to left: Beautifully Disney Midnight Hour, Illamasqua Scarab, Picture Polish Monroe, Adorn Beautiful & Damned, OPI Royal Rajah Ruby, Picture Polish Vampire, Revlon Vixen, Butter London La Moss, OPI Midnight in Moscow, and OPI Black Tie Optional.

The wheel, same order:

20150214_074729~2

Closer shot:

20150214_074741~2

Here’s Midnight Hour, Scarab, Monroe, Beautiful & Damned, Royal Rajah Ruby, and Vampire.  I really thought that Beautiful & Damned and Vampire would be dupes, but they aren’t at all.  I also thought that Beautiful & Damned would be a dupe of La Moss, but that’s not the case either.

Other side:

20150214_074758~2

Here’s Vampire (again), Vixen, La Moss, Midnight in Moscow, and Black Tie Optional.

I know that Black Tie Optional is a total VHTF but honestly I don’t get the excitement over it.  I’ve read that some of the bottles had more of a color-change flash and mine doesn’t, so maybe that’s what I’m missing?  Anyway, I’ll keep it only because I can’t easily replace it.  Vixen and La Moss are almost dead-on dupes, but I like La Moss better because the formula is easier to work with.  Vixen is supposed to be a dupe for Chanel Rouge Noir, so I guess La Moss is too?

OPI Midnight in Moscow is going.  I remember being super disappointed when I bought that shade and wore it the first time.  I’d been expecting something I guess like Royal Rajah Ruby, based on the swatches I saw of it, but on me it looks very brown, and I hate brown.

Some Valentine’s nail art!

20150208_141254~2

Illamasqua Throb with a black heart accent nail, because that’s how I roll.

20150210_170453~2

Illamasqua Scarab with Sally Hansen Lux Lace in Eyelet.  Isn’t this red velvet polish amazing?  I think it’s discontinued, but I also hear that Germani-cure by OPI is a pretty passable dupe.  Anyway, the “lace” didn’t really look like lace to me, but I had been wanting a white glitter polish to look like falling snow.

That’s it, but I might have some other things later today.  Happy Valentine’s Day!!  I hope it’s everything you wish it will be!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
