What Jenny's Reading











{February 20, 2015}   Swatch “Saturday”: Orange-ish Lipsticks

I am out of town this weekend and didn’t have any time to do Polish Wars.  So I’m swatching some orangey lipsticks for you this week.  I think orange (and orange-red) is a big color for lips every few years or so.  It’s like people remember there are colors other than red or pink and present them like they’re a revelation.  Whatever, I’m a big fan of orange lips, they are unexpected and because of my newish red hair, look better than brick red on me.

Bite Beauty Blood Orange

Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Blood Orange.  It’s a nice color and while matte (duh), the formula’s pretty good and isn’t super drying.

Kat Von D Countess

Kat Von D Studded Kiss in Countess.  Similar to Blood Orange but a bit darker, more intense.  Also the formula is more drying, and for some reason, this color goes pinkish on me after awhile.  I don’t hate it, but it’s not the first one I’ll reach for if I want orange.

MAC Scarlet Ibis

MAC Scarlet Ibis from the Marilyn Monroe collection.  This one’s probably my favorite, but I don’t wear it that often.  It’s very intense, and typically looks better on me if I wear it over a darker, more burgundy-like pencil.  The formula is good and it’s a bit creamier than the other two (not matte), so I would recommend a lip pencil of some type anyway to help prevent feathering.

Sephora Crayon Glossy Orange

Sephora Lip Crayon in Glossy Orange.  This is obviously a gloss, and it has the least amount of staying power of the four.  The color is pretty light, too, so I wear this on days when I want the pop of orange but it needs to be more subtle.

I hope everyone has a fun weekend planned!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
