What Jenny's Reading











{February 28, 2015}   Swatch Saturday: Polish Wars: The Greens

Happy Saturday!  This week has been super busy so I’ve had little time to put together book reviews.  Stupid life, why does it need to interfere with my reading???

I’m nearly done with Pioneer Girl, so I should have the next part of the review in the next few days.  It’s a doozy – so far, written, it’s 19 pages long!!  So I’m sure I’ll be making some cuts, and it’ll be in several pieces.

Today for Polish Wars I have some green shades.  I love green polish, but I’m really particular about the shades.  There are a lot of shades of green I dislike: army, olive, khaki, anything muddy or dusty or just plain ugh.  I like bright, bold greens, like hunter and emerald and spring.

Here are the five polishes for review today:

20150228_160020~2

From left to right: Cover Girl Scalding Emerald, OPI Jade is the New Black, OPI Green-wich Village, China Glaze I’m With the Lifeguard, and OPI Did It On ‘Em.  All are three coats.

Close ups.  I have to apologize: these pictures are a bit blurry.  For some reason I couldn’t get the pictures to be clear and show the shades accurately!  It was either, clear picture, or accurate color.  So I picked accurate color.

20150228_160033~2

OPI Did It On ‘Em.  This is from the Nicki Minaj collection awhile back.  It’s a great chartreuse shade.  I’m keeping it.

20150228_160040~2

China Glaze I’m With the Lifeguard.  A bright neon from…I’m not sure.  Okay, I checked.  It’s from a 2012 summer neons collection.  I love this shade of green!  It’s not so neon that it’s eye-searing, and it actually applies really well.  You can’t see it in the picture (darn you, camera!) but it’s also got some shimmer.  Another keeper.

20150228_160054~2

OPI Green-wich Village.  Ugh.  Okay, this color is less accurate than the others.  In person, it’s lighter than the picture makes it appear.  I had bought this one for the sole purpose of nail art.  I don’t hate it, but I can’t see myself ever actually wearing it.  Give away.

20150228_160113~2

OPI Jade is the New Black from the 2010 Hong Kong collection.  I like this shade of green.  It looks pretty similar to Amazon…Amazoff, so I’ll have to pit those together at some point to see how dupey they are.  But for now I’m keeping it.

20150228_160124~2

Cover Girl Scalding Emerald.  See, I hate it when a shade claims it’s “emerald” but to me just looks really brownish.  Emerald is such a distinctive shade, they should’ve named it something else (or just made it more green!).  This was from last year’s Catching Fire collection.  I really want to love it, because the sparkles are really interesting, but I hate browns, and this looks very brown to me.  It’s headed out the door.

Hope you enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
