What Jenny's Reading











{May 1, 2015}   Swatch Friday: Derby Nails!

Hi guys!  I’m doing this today since I won’t be able to tomorrow.  I’m spending the weekend with some friends and we’re going to watch the Derby and go to the beach!

I’ve loved watching the Derby since I was a little girl.  My friends are having a party, and I attempted to make a Derby hat to wear.  So far that’s been unsuccessful (who knew it was so hard to find tulle???).  I decided to at least do my nails festive.  I couldn’t think what to do, since I’m not that great a nail artist and I don’t have any horse-themed decals or stickers.  But then I saw an idea on Pinterest, to paint your nails like jockey silks.  How fun!  And mostly geometric shapes, I can even handle that.  So I decided to paint them like the previous Triple Crown winners’ silks.  There have been eleven in all, so you’re going to see my left hand for the first time.

20150430_170524~2

Pinky to thumb: Assault, Count Fleet, Affirmed, Secretariat, and Whirlaway.

20150430_170729~2

Thumb to pinky: Count Barton, Omaha/Gallant Fox, War Admiral, Seattle Slew, and Citation.

Since four horses shared the same two silks, I had to pick which one I wanted to do two of.  I chose Whirlaway/Citation because my white polish is sort of crappy and hard to work with.

The colors I used were: Orly Black Vinyl, China Glaze Sun Worshiper, China Glaze White on White, OPI Over & Over A-Gwen, Urban Decay Chaos, China Glaze Lemon Fizz, OPI Get in the Expresso Lane!, Orly Lift the Veil, OPI Don’t Talk Bach To Me, and my KISS black and white stripers.  I used tape to create the lines and freehanded some.  It took FOREVER and of course I messed it up.  It’s hard to tell in the picture, but the polish is a bit mussed on my right thumb.

I used my trusty CND Weekly Topcoat so it should last me the whole weekend.

Hope you enjoy your weekend!  Is anyone planning on watching the Derby?  If I get the hat finished I will post some pictures too!

Also I’m on Twitter and Instagram – you can follow me @moonrisesiren for both!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
