What Jenny's Reading











{May 16, 2015}   Swatch Saturday: Random Nail Art

Hi guys!  Okay, so I have today some random nail art I’ve worn in the last couple of weeks:

20150428_171219~2

This one is very…meh.  I thought I’d start with the least awesome and work our way up.  I was trying to do that cotton bud nail art that was all over Pinterest last spring, but it doesn’t look all that great.  I used Illmasqua Raindrops as the base and my KISS black and white stripers.

20150429_130511~2

This is…well, I had wanted to do a water marble with the OPI neons from last summer, but I couldn’t get the polishes to sit right in the water.  I’ve only ever managed one decent water marble in three years.  Anyway, this is just color splotching with all the OPI neons: Life Gave Me Lemons, You are So Outta Lime!, Hotter Than You Pink, Down at the Core-al, Juice Bar Hopping, and Push & Pur-pull.  It was fun and vibrant, but too thick; it never really dried.

20150514_175733~2

This is a mermaid fishtail with OPI My Vampire is Buff, China Glaze Turned Up Turquoise, and Black Cat Lacquer Virgo.  This was really easy to do and I got several complements.

20150512_164931~2

Last but definitely not least, my fake water marbling.  I wore this last week.  It was so, so hot that I thought it would be appropriate to do my nails like fire.  Of course, because I suck at water marbling, I tried the needle dragging method.  Not bad for a first try, right?  I used a toothpick instead of a needle and went one at a time.  It took forever but I think it came out really well.  I used three colors for this: OPI Over & Over A-Gwen, Urban Decay Bang, and China Glaze Lemon Fizz.  I think the next time I try this I will paint a base color first, as you can see in a couple of places bare nail peeking through.

The funny thing about that last nail art was, not ten minutes after I’d taken this picture, the heavens opened up and it absolutely POURED.  After the storm the temperature had dropped what felt like almost ten degrees, so the evening was very pleasant.  I like to think my fire nails made this happen.  Residents of Florida’s west coast: YOU’RE WELCOME.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
