What Jenny's Reading











{May 31, 2015}   Swatch Sunday: Polish Wars: And Last

Okay, okay…I promise this is still a book review blog!  I promise!  I had a rough week and wasn’t able to get a whole lot done.  I’m still working on the Shakespeare review, and I have a few others as well.  I’m hoping to get back to a more regular posting schedule this week.

Anyway, today I have the last of Polish Wars.  This series really didn’t work out the way I’d anticipated – I thought I’d get rid of a lot more polish than I did.  I did end up cutting out some stuff, which is good, and I re-organized my mainstream polish brands by color rather than brand, which I’d been wanting to do for awhile.

Today’s Polish Wars are metallics, one possible dupe (it wasn’t), and some neturals.  Let’s start with the metallics:

20150421_121109~2

Pinky to index: Cover Girl Seared Bronze, OPI Just Spotted the Lizard, Cover Girl Pyro Pink, and Marc Jacobs Le Charm.  I ended up keeping them all, although if the bottles on the Cover Girl polishes had been larger I probably would’ve gotten rid of them both.  Since they don’t take up much space, they survived the purge (for now).  The OPI was a big surprise for me; I expected to toss it, but I ended up really liking how it looks and it’s not in my pedicure rotation.  You can’t see in this picture (I’ve given up taking single nail pictures for the moment, they never work out that well), but it’s a gold and green duochrome that’s supposed to be a dupe for Chanel Peridot.  It’s actually really pretty!  The Marc Jacobs I got because it’s rose gold, and I’m obsessed with rose gold these days.  I kept that one too.

20150418_163610~2

These are the possible dupes.  OPI I have a Herring Problem and Illamasqua Raindrops.  They’re both a sort of muted bluish gray with sparkles.

20150418_163641~2

And they are not even the slightest bit similar on the nail!  It’s Raindrops on the pinky and middle with OPI on the ring and index.  OPI is much darker than the bottle would have you believe.  I kept them both.  I’m a sucker for a good gray polish.

20150421_115511~2

And finally, a few nudes I hadn’t worn recently.  From pinky, it’s OPI Don’t Bossa Nova Me Around, OPI My Vampire is Buff, and OPI You Don’t Know Jacques!  I am only keeping My Vampire is Buff, and that’s mainly because of the name.  DBNMA is just meh to me, and I have no idea why I even bought YDKJ.  It’s brown!  What the fuck was I thinking????

So that’s it for Polish Wars, guys.  I do have a different idea for a new series, which will hopefully be a bit more fun and interesting.  I collect black label OPIs, and I have about a dozen of them currently.  I hardly ever see posts or reviews on black labels since they’re so old, and I’m always on the hunt for them, so maybe I’ll share what I have.  What do you think?

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
