What Jenny's Reading











{August 10, 2015}   Swatch Sunday: Beach Nails and Beach Photos

Hi all!  So I have some beach and ocean themed nails this week and some stormy beach pictures!

I’ve been to the beach this summer probably more than I have been the twenty years I’ve lived here.  And this last week I’ve been obsessed with beach-themed nail art!  The other day I saw the first pumpkin spice sign of the season (not at Starbucks, mind you – I’m pretty sure the PSL doesn’t come out till September 1) so I know it’s technically close to Autumn.  My nieces head back to school in about a week.  It feels like this summer has just flown by, doesn’t it?  I mean, in Florida summery weather will likely last till sometime in October, but the whole “back-to-school” mindset is starting.

A couple of weeks ago I went to the beach with my sister and her family.  The whole weekend was pretty crappy, weather-wise; a lot of rain.  We did get some time on the beach though.  The surf was pretty rough, and I took some pictures:

20150802_134954~2

20150802_134958

20150802_143011

20150802_143105

20150802_160506~2

It looks so desolate, doesn’t it?  But in actuality there were tons of people there with us.  But all those people having fun spoiled my pictures!

And of course I had to do my traditional toes in the sand (or I guess, toes in the murky sandy water):

20150802_134645~2

Okay, so on to the nail art!

20150804_160752~2

This is OPI I Have a Herring Problem, Illamasqua Raindrops, and China Glaze White on White with the much used marbling technique.  I was trying to mimic the look of the ocean in those pictures.  I didn’t quite get it, but I was pleased with how the White on White looked like surf and waves.

20150807_173124~2

This was a base of OPI My Vampire is Buff, and then several colors: Cover Girl Teal on Fire, Adorn Age of Aquarius, Orly Gumdrop, OPI Yodel Me On My Cell, and China Glaze White on White.  I dotted the colors and then used a thin nail brush to swirl them together.  It came out okay; I think next time I will use fewer colors, and colors less close to each other.  It sort of looks like the ocean crashing on sand, right?  If you squint?

20150806_112629~2

This is Hard Candy Island Fever, Hard Candy A Mermaid’s Tale, and some sponged on Sinful Colors Nail Junkie.  I tried a gradient with the Hard Candy polishes.  It sort of came out, but was still not super satisfactory.  Then I sponged on Nail Junkie.  I’ll have to swatch that one at some point.  It looks like it should’ve been named “Ocean Potion” or something like that.  This one was much prettier in person, and sort of had an underwater bubbles in the Caribbean feel.

20150724_180327~2

This is my absolute favorite of my beach-themed nail art!  It was so, so simple to do.  It’s a base of OPI My Vampire Is Buff with Adorn Landlocked Mermaid sponged on.  I was trying, again, to make it look like the ocean washing up on the beach, and I think I was more successful in this than I was with the nail brush swirl art.  Then I added these ocean-themed stickers.  I can’t remember what brand they were; I found the little sheet with the stickers in my nail art drawer in my Melmer.  I probably bought them at Sally Beauty Supply.

Have a great week!  Only a little bit of summer left to go – hope everyone who’s going back to school is getting ready for that!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
